Skip to product information
1 of 1

Baton Music

The Nutcracker Suite - Tchaikovsky

The Nutcracker Suite - Tchaikovsky

arr. for Concert Band

Tschaikowsky's 'The Nutcracker' is a two-act ballet on a libretto adapted from E. T. A. Hoffmann's story 'The Nutcracker and the Mouse King'. It has become one of his most famous compositions, in particular the pieces featured in the suite. Tschaikowsky made a selection of eight of the numbers from the ballet before the ballet's December 1892 première, forming 'The Nutcracker Suite', Op. 71a, intended for concert performance. This suite became instantly popular, with almost every number encored at its premiere, while the complete ballet did not begin to achieve its great popularity until after the George Balanchine staging became a hit in New York City. Martin Jorge transcribed the complete suite for Symphonic Band. Besides all original movements ('Overture', 'March', 'Dance of the Sugar-Plum Fairy', 'Trepak', 'Arabian Dance', 'Chinese Dance', 'Dance of the Mirlitons' and 'Waltz of the Flowers') this suite contains two extra movements from the ballet: 'Decoration and lighting of the Christmas Tree' and 'Galop of the Children and Entrance of the Parents'.

Regular price $252.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $252.00 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details