Skip to product information
1 of 1

Baton Music

Der Rosenkavalier (Waltz Sequence No. 2) - R. Strauss

Der Rosenkavalier (Waltz Sequence No. 2) - R. Strauss

arr. for Concert Band

Der Rosenkavalier' (The Knight of the Rose or The Rose-Bearer), Op. 59, is a comic opera in three acts by Richard Strauss to an original German libretto by Hugo von Hofmannsthal. It was first performed at the 'Königliches Opernhaus' in Dresden on 26 January 1911 and the opera became immediate and profound popular. As one would expect of a commercial hit, the music was pressed into all manner of use through arrangements and transcriptions. Strauss produced the earliest orchestral extract himself in 1911, directly on the heels of the premiere; he titled it ‘Walzerfolge Rosenkavalier 3. Akt’ (‘Waltz Sequence from Rosenkavalier Act 3’) which in the end was entitled as ‘Walzerfolge No. 2’ (‘Walz Sequence No. 2’). Dutch arranger Christiaan Janssen transribed this ‘Waltz Sequence No. 2’ for Symphonic Band.

Regular price $175.60 USD
Regular price Sale price $175.60 USD
Sale Sold out
View full details