Skip to product information
1 of 1

Baton Music

Fanfare from Le Martyre de Saint Sébastien - Claude Debussy

Fanfare from Le Martyre de Saint Sébastien - Claude Debussy

arr. Bruno Peterschmitt for Brass Ensemble

‘Le Martyre de Saint Sébastien’ is a five-act musical mystery play on the subject of Saint Sebastian, with a text written in 1911 by the Italian author Gabriele d'Annunzio and incidental music by the French composer Claude Debussy.

Though Debussy's complete score still exists and can be performed in its original, the work is very seldom heard in this way. More often performed is a four-movement orchestral suite made up of the music extracted from the score and subtitled ‘Fragments Symphoniques’.

In addition, there are also two short brass fanfares which are sometimes presented with the symphonic fragments. One of these fanfares from ‘Le Martyre de Saint Sébastien’ was originally scored for 4 Trumpets, 6 Horns, 3 Trombones, 1 Tuba and Timpani. French arranger Bruno Peterschmitt has arranged the piece for a smaller, more accessible brass ensemble.   BM1070

Regular price €34.50 EUR
Regular price Sale price €34.50 EUR
Sale Sold out
View full details