Skip to product information
1 of 1

Baton Music

Prelude and Fugue in G minor BWV 558 - J.S. Bach

Prelude and Fugue in G minor BWV 558 - J.S. Bach

arr. for Concert Band

The Eight Short Preludes and Fugues (also Eight Little Preludes and Fugues), BWV 553-560, are a collection of works by Johann Sebastian Bach. While originally attributed to Bach, scholars suggest that the eight preludes and fugues might have been composed by one of his pupils, possibly Johann Tobias Krebs or his son Johann Ludwig Krebs based on certain unusual characteristics and simplicity unusual to most of Bach's music when played on the organ. However, some Bach 'experts' have noted that they bore the 'stamp of commanding mastery' and 'on stylistic grounds neither [Johann Tobias or Johann Ludwig] seems likely'. The Prelude and Fugue in G minor (BWV 558) is the sixth prelude and is now arranged for Symphonic Band by German arranger Martin Kirchharz.

Regular price €89.00 EUR
Regular price Sale price €89.00 EUR
Sale Sold out
View full details